Skip to content


The 2024 Judges


Paddy O’Reilly, Ellen Cregan, Pirooz Jafari, Odette Kelada (convenor)


Rosemary Cameron, Shakira Hussein, Esther Anatolitis, Mahmood Fazal, Sian Prior (convenor)

Indigenous Writing

Maya Hodge, Tristen Harwood, Jeanine Leane (convenor)


Petra Kalive, Jean Tong, Richard Watts (convenor)


Samah Sabawi, Prithvi Varatharajan (convenor)

Writing for Young Adults

Angela Crocombe, Alice Boyle, Cath Moore (convenor)

Unpublished Manuscript

Hasib Hourani, Adalya Nash Hussein, Allee Richards (convenor)



Photography by Sarah Walker (main image and Unpublished Manuscripts) 

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The 2024 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards ceremony is presented with the support of Fed Square.

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.