Skip to content

Announcing The Next Chapter 2024 Recipients 

The Wheeler Centre announces the five recipients of The Next Chapter program for 2024. Meet the recipients here.

The Next Chapter 2024 recipients are: 

  • Raqiya Ahmed (NSW)  
  • Claire Cao (NSW) 
  • Jake Corvus (QLD) 
  • Laniyuk (VIC) 
  • Maria van Neerven (QLD) 


These five outstanding writers will each receive $15,000 to develop their work. The Wheeler Centre will match each writer with an experienced mentor to undertake a 12-month mentorship. The Wheeler Centre will work closely with the recipients to bring their writing to life, and will support them throughout their careers via initiatives that encourage publishers, booksellers and readers alike to engage with their work. 

In addition, the Wheeler Centre is thrilled to announce the five writers who have been Highly Commended for The Next Chapter 2024. 


The Next Chapter 2024 Highly Commended writers are: 

  • Alana Hicks (NSW) 
  • Liz Habermann (SA) 
  • Fernanda Dahlstrom (QLD) 
  • Gurmeet Kaur (VIC) 
  • Munira Tabassum Ahmed (NSW) 


The Highly Commended writers will be offered a 12-month mentorship with acclaimed, diverse writers from the University of Melbourne’s Creative Writing Department, including the opportunity to access classes and resources connected to the University’s Writing and Publishing programs. This is made possible through the generous support of the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts.

The 2024 Next Chapter recipients and Highly Commended writers have been selected by judges Maxine Beneba Clarke, Bruce Pascoe and Maria Tumarkin.  

2024 marks the fifth year of The Next Chapter. Presented by the Wheeler Centre with support from Creative Australia, the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, and the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts, The Next Chapter supports a new wave of writers who reflect the diversity of Australian identities and experiences. 



Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.