Skip to content

Unpublished Manuscript Award at the Emerging Writers’ Festival Launch


Event Status

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript is much-anticipated … most winners (and shortlistees) have found publication.

The prize itself is substantial, too – the winner receives $15,000 in prize money.

Last year’s winner, Graeme Simsion, famously won a worldwide, million-dollar-plus publishing deal for his quirky romantic comedy The Rosie Project.

Join us for the opening night of the Emerging Writers’ Festival, where Graeme will officially pass the baton, announcing the winner of the 2013 prize, presented by Heidi Victoria, Minister for the Arts.

Poet Astrid Lorange will deliver a special keynote address to mark the occasion of the tenth Emerging Writers’ Festival.

Join the Wheeler Centre and the Emerging Writers’ Festival on a night that celebrates new writing talent – and showcases the next generation of writing stars.


Graeme Simsion

Graeme Simsion is a Melbourne-based novelist and screenwriter. The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect have combined global sales approaching five million copies. Graeme is also the author of the international bestsellers The Best of Adam Sharp and – co-written with his wife, Anne Buist – Two ... Read more

Sam Twyford-Moore

Sam Twyford-Moore is a writer and the founding host of The Rereaders, a fortnightly literary and cultural podcast. From 2012 until 2015, he was the Festival Director and CEO of the Emerging Writers’ Festival, during which time he directed three Melbourne-based festivals, launched the Digital Writ... Read more


The Edge, Fed Square

The Atrium Flinders Street Federation Square Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.