Skip to content

Small Press Network Book of the Year Award Edition


Event Status

The Small Press Network is dedicated to supporting independent publishers and broadening the diversity of work available in the Australian literary landscape. To celebrate the return of their Book of the Year Award, this installment of The Next Big Thing will feature readings from works shortlisted for this year’s prize. Join us on Instagram Live to hear from readers including Leah Jing McIntosh, Kirsten Krauth, Sreedhevi Iyer, Tanya Vavilova, Shu-Ling Chua, Poppy Nwosu. Let’s raise a glass to the spirit of independent publishers and all of their achievements from the year that was.

To watch this event, you will need to have access to an Instagram account. Instructions posted to our Instagram Story (@wheelercentre) on the day of the event will direct you to each speaker’s personal Instagram page where you can watch as they go live for their reading.

Presented in partnership with the Small Press Network

The online bookseller for this event is Readings

To keep up to date with the Small Press Network and sign up to their mailing list, click here


Shu-Ling Chua

Shu-Ling Chua is a Melbourne-based (formerly Canberra-based) essayist, critic and poet, whose work has appeared in Peril magazine, Lindsay, Meanjin, and Asian American Writers’ Workshop, among others. Her debut essay collection, Echoes, was published in 2020. Shu-Ling was shortlisted in the 2018... Read more

Leah Jing McIntosh

Leah Jing McIntosh is the founding editor of Liminal magazine. As part of her work for Liminal, Leah has published books, created mentorships and fellowships, and established national literary prizes, seeking to create new spaces and opportunities for community. She has recently edited the essay col... Read more

Poppy Nwosu

Poppy Nwosu has published multiple young adult fiction books and been shortlisted for many awards, including the Readings YA Book Prize, SPN Book of the Year Award and the Aurealis Awards. Her latest novel was a CBCA Notable and she was recently awarded the Max Fatchen Fellowship. Poppy also writes ... Read more

Tanya Vavilova

Tanya Vavilova’s fiction has won the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund Best Prose and Wollongong Writers Festival Short Story Prize, and has been commended or shortlisted for the Newcastle Short Story Award, Overland’s Fair Australia and Neilma Sidney prizes, and the Seizure Viva La Nov... Read more

Sreedhevi Iyer

Sreedhevi Iyer is the author of The Tiniest House of Time, which was nominated for the SPN Book of the Year Award in 2021, and also The Star-Popular Readers Choice Award 2024 in Malaysia. Her previous book, Jungle Without Water, was nominated for the Penang Book Award in 2017. Sree is also a two-tim... Read more

Kirsten Krauth

Kirsten Krauth is a writer and podcaster based in Castlemaine. Her second novel Almost a Mirror, published in 2020, was shortlisted for the Penguin Literary Prize and named by The Guardian in ’The Best 20 Australian Books of 2020’. Her Almost a Mirror podcast series, inspired by the ’80s p... Read more

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.