Skip to content

Small Press Network Book of the Year Award 2023


Event Status

Hear readings from works shortlisted for the 2023 Small Press Network Book of the Year Award, followed by the announcement of this year’s winner.

About the Event

The Small Press Network is dedicated to supporting independent publishers and broadening the diversity of work available in the Australian literary landscape.

To celebrate the return of their Book of the Year Award, join the Small Press Network and the Wheeler Centre for an evening of readings from this year’s shortlisted works by André Dao, George Haddad, Leah Jing McIntosh, Jo Riccioni and Andrew Sutherland, followed by the announcement of the winning book. Hosted by Esther Anatolitis.

George Haddad and Andrew Sutherland will appear virtually at this event.

Presented in partnership with the Small Press Network



Wheelchair accessible

Accessible toilets available

Assistive Listening

Registered Assistance Animals welcome

You can learn more about the Wheeler Centre’s accessibility policies here. Please notify us of all access requirements when booking online so we can assist you with your visit. If you require further information, please contact reception on 03 9094 7800 or

The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing takes place every month at the Moat and is a cherished Melbourne institution. It’s the place to be if you want to hear great emerging writers read from new and adventurous work.


The Next Big Thing


Esther Anatolitis

Esther Anatolitis is the Editor of Meanjin and one of Australia’s most influential advocates for arts and culture. She is Hon A/Prof at RMIT School of Art and a member of the National Gallery of Australia Governing Council. Across two decades Esther has led arts and media organisations across all ... Read more

André Dao

André Dao is a Melbourne-based writer, editor and artist. His debut novel, Anam, won the 2021 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. It was published in 2023 by Penguin Random House Australia and Picador UK. He is the co-founder of Behind the Wire, the award-winning ora... Read more

George Haddad

Dr George Haddad is an award-winning writer, artist and academic practising on Gadigal land. His novella, Populate and Perish, was the winner of the 2016 Viva La Novella competition and his short story Kátharsis was awarded the 2018 Neilma Sidney Prize. George’s novel, Losing Face, was longl... Read more

Leah Jing McIntosh

Leah Jing McIntosh is the founding editor of Liminal magazine. As part of her work for Liminal, Leah has published books, created mentorships and fellowships, and established national literary prizes, seeking to create new spaces and opportunities for community. She has recently edited the essay col... Read more

Jo Riccioni

Jo Riccioni graduated with a Masters in Medieval Literature from Leeds University, where her studies included Icelandic saga and the Arthurian and Robin Hood legends. Her short stories have won awards in the UK and Australia and have been anthologised in Best Australian Stories. Jo’s first novel,... Read more

Andrew Sutherland

Andrew Sutherland (he/they) is a Queer Poz (PLHIV) writer and performance-maker currently based on unceded Wurundjeri land. His work draws upon Queer and intercultural ways of being, filtering autobiographical practices through the lens of pop-cultural, ecological and viral dramaturgies. Sutherl... Read more


The Wheeler Centre

176 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.