The Stella Prize: One Year On

The Stella Prize: One Year On

Following the 2014 Stella Prize announcement, last year’s inaugural winner Carrie Tiffany and Stella Prize co-founder Aviva Tuffield are joined by this year’s winner – Clare Wright – to question whether the award has provoked a fundamental change in how women writers are viewed, or if gender bias is as virulent as ever.


Portrait of Aviva Tuffield

Aviva Tuffield

Aviva Tuffield is a publisher at Black Inc. and executive director of the Stella Prize. She has worked in publishing for almost twenty years, mainly as an editor. She was previously a publisher at Affirm Press and Associate Publisher at Scribe Publications, where she was responsible for building an Australian fiction list. Before that, she was Deputy Editor at Australian Book Review.

Portrait of Clare Wright

Clare Wright

Clare Wright is an award-winning historian and author who has worked as an academic, political speechwriter, historical consultant and radio and television broadcaster. 

Portrait of Carrie Tiffany

Carrie Tiffany

Carrie Tiffany was born in West Yorkshire and grew up in Western Australia. She spent her early twenties working as a park ranger in Central Australia. Her first novel, Everyman’s Rules for Scientific Living (2005), was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Guardian First Book Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and won the Dobbie Award and the WA Premier’s Award for Fiction. 


Listen to The Stella Prize: One Year On