Part of a podcast series

The Wheeler Centre

View all episodes in this series

Into Stella: A Constellation of Writing by Australian Women

Listen to Into Stella: A Constellation of Writing by Australian Women

Aviva Tuffield, Charlotte Wood, Peggy Frew and Alice Pung at Into Stella

In only its fourth year, it’s already impossible to imagine Australia’s literary landscape without the Stella Prize. The prize, named after My Brilliant Career author Stella Maria Sarah ‘Miles’ Franklin, celebrates the best writing by Australian women authors each year.

The 2016 Stella Prize shortlisted books

The six shortlisted books for 2016 showcase the depth of talent in Australian women’s writing. This year’s shortlist contained two collections of short fiction, three novels and a collection of personal essays. These works embrace themes ranging from hunger to community to sex to cancer to corporate control.

Following the announcement of Charlotte Wood's The Natural Way of Things as the winner of the 2016 Stella Prize in Sydney on 19 April, Stella executive director Aviva Tuffield and judge Alice Pung was joined by Wood, and by shortlisted author Peggy Frew. Join us for a vibrant celebration of the best of Australian women’s writing.

The Wheeler Centre

Subscribe to the Wheeler Centre's podcast to hear full recordings of our talks – featuring the best in books, writing and ideas.