Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2022

Your definitive guide to Australia's best writing.

VPLA 2022 Artwork with rainbow outlines of a book next to the words 'Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2022'

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – the prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Drama, Poetry, Award for Indigenous Writing and Writing for Young Adults – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000. 

The winners of the six main suite categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Entries have now closed for the 2022 Awards. 

Shortlisted works will be announced on Monday 6 December.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 3 February 2022.

Key dates for all 2022 awards

Call for entries open – Wednesday 18 August 2021.

Call for entries close – Monday 13 September 2021

Shortlist announced – Monday 6 December 2021

Winner announced at awards ceremony – Thursday 3 February 2022

Information and enquiries

Phone: (03) 9094 7800 (please include your full name and phone number in voicemail messages)
Diem Nguyen
Programme Administrator and Awards Coordinator

Click here for conditions and guidelines for the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2022.

If you're a self published author who is suffering financial hardship and would like to request an exemption on the entry fee, please contact us.