The Award for Indigenous Writing

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Indigenous Writing is awarded biennially, and offers $25,000 in prize money.

Eligible works for this award are those first published in English between 1 July 2016 and 31 December 2018, and made available to Australian readers between these dates.

All works that have entered the Award for Indigenous Writing may also enter any of the other categories of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards if they meet all other eligibility criteria for that award.

Nominations for the 2019 award have now closed.

Key dates for the 2019 Award

Open call for entries – Monday 3 September 2018
Close of entries – Monday 1 October 2018
Shortlist announcement – Monday 3 December 2018
Winner announcement – Thursday 31 January 2019

The 2019 Award for Indigenous Writing judging panel

Genevieve Grieves, Mark McMillan, Jane Harrison (convenor)

To enter a work in the Award for Indigenous Writing, fill out the online form on the main page of the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards.