Skip to content

Mac Gudgeon


Mac Gudgeon is a freelance writer of film, television and theatre.

His latest film Last Ride, directed by Glendyn Ivin, was released in 2009 and screened at the Toronto Film Festival. It earned Mac a nomination for Best Adapted Screenplay at the Australian Writers’ Guild awards. Mac was co-writer, with Jan Sardi, of Ground Zero, which won four Australian Film Institute awards. Mac also wrote the screenplay for The Delinquents and Wind, the Francis Ford Coppola/Zoetrope production. Mac’s script editing credits include Wolf Creek, the low-budget horror film chosen to screen at the 2005 Sundance Film Festival and Cannes, and Snowtown, to be released in 2011.

His television credits include ‘Killing Time’ (as writer/script producer, due to be screened in 2011). His episode of ‘Halifax FP’, ‘Sweet Dreams’, won the 1996 Australian Writers’ Guild award for best mini-series or telemovie screenplay, and another, ‘The Feeding’, won the 1995 AFI award for best telemovie or mini-series. He wrote three episodes of ‘Good Guys, Bad Guys’, ‘Gone to the Dogs’, ‘Little Time Bomb’ and ‘Doof’ as well as the mini-series ‘The Petrov Affair’, co-written with Cliff Green. He was writer/associate producer of ‘Waterfront’, the award-winning six part mini-series.

Documentaries include ‘Targets’, a television special for Community Aid Abroad on their projects in Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, script editor on ‘Aeroplane Dance’, ‘Done Bali’ and ‘Abortion, Corruption and Cops – The Bertram Wainer Story’ and ‘Monash’.

Theatre credits include: ‘Thumbul’, a one-man play for Aboriginal actor Tom E. Lewis, and ‘Dante – Through the Invisible’ for Handspan Theatre. Mac was the 2007 winner of the inaugural Foxtel Fellowship for Excellence in Television Writing. He is a recipient of an Australian Film Commission ‘Distinctly Australian Fellowship’ for the feature film screenplay ‘Boyo’. Honorary positions include Board member of Film Victoria 2002-05 and 1993-96, President of the Australian Writers’ Guild 1998-2000, Councillor of the Australian Film, Television & Radio School 1988-91, Chairman of the Victorian branch of the Australian Writers’ Guild 1988-89, and member of the curriculum committee of the Victorian College of the Arts 2004-2011.

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

View our privacy policy
Acknowledgment of Country

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the traditional owners of the land on which we work. We pay our respects to the people of the Kulin Nation and all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders, past and present.