Skip to content

Chris Mead


Chris is literary director of the Melbourne Theatre Company.

His previous positions have included: inaugural artistic director, PlayWriting Australia; literary manager, and Wharf 2LOUD Producer, Sydney Theatre Company; and literary manager, Company B Belvoir St Theatre.

He has also been curator of the Australian National Playwrights’ Conference; and festival director of the International Festival for Young Playwrights.

Recent directing credits include Richard Frankliand’s Walking into the Bigness (co-director with Wayne Blair, Malthouse Theatre 2014), which won Best Performance for VCE Theatre Studies and was nominated for three Green Room Awards, Ian Wilding’s Rare Earth (NIDA 2011) and Quack (Griffin 2010), and Damien Millar’s The Modern International Dead (Griffin 2008), which won Best New Play at the Sydney Theatre Critics’ Awards and the WA Premier’s Literary Award, as well as being shortlisted for the NSW, Queensland and Victorian Premier’s Literary Award.

Chris has a PhD from Sydney University, was awarded an inaugural Dramaturgy Fellowship by the Australia Council for the Arts in 2004. He was selected to attend New Visions New Voices at Washington DC’s Kennedy Center in 2008.

His monograph on institutional racism and outreach strategies was published by Currency House in June, 2008. He has recently written introductions to Currency Press volumes by Lachlan Philpott and Lally Katz. In 2009 Chris was named as one of Sydney’s 100 creative catalysts; he sat on the steering committee for the 2011 Australian Theatre Forum, and on the board of Arena Theatre Company (2008-13) and the artistic directorate of Hothouse Theatre (2011-14). He is currently on the Board of Theatre Network Victoria.

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.