Skip to content

 2024 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards [Live Stream]


Event Status

Tune in to the 2024 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards ceremony and celebrate this year's outstanding winners and nominees.

The live stream will be available on this page from 6pm, 1 February 2024.

Live streamed from 6pm, 1 February 2024


The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – the prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Drama, Poetry, Award for Indigenous Writing, Children’s Literature and Writing for Young Adults – each receive $25,000.

The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000 in prize money and, introduced in 2022, a two-week residency at the McCraith House in Dromana as part of a partnership between The Wheeler Centre and RMIT Culture.

The winners of the six main suite categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony hosted by Sami Shah on Thursday 1 February 2024, and you can tune in to the live-stream of the awards right here on our website.

Before the ceremony, explore the 2024 shortlist and highly commended works here.



The Wheeler Centre is proud to administer the Awards on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The 2024 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards ceremony is presented with the support of Fed Square.


Sami Shah

Sami Shah is a multi-award winning comedian, writer, and journalist. Sami is a lecturer in journalism at the University of Melbourne’s Centre for Advancing Journalism, and is the Ambassador-at-Large for PEN Melbourne. ... Read more

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.