Skip to content

2023 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards [Live Stream]


Event Status

Tune in to the 2023 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards ceremony and celebrate this year's outstanding winners and nominees.

Live streamed from 6pm, 2 February 2023


The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – the prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Drama, Poetry, Award for Indigenous Writing and Writing for Young Adults – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000.

The winners of the six main suite categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be named alongside the general category winners, and will receive $2,000.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 2 February 2023, and you can tune in to the live-stream of the awards right here on our website.

Before the ceremony, explore the full shortlist here.



The Wheeler Centre is proud to administer the Awards on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The 2023 Awards ceremony is presented in partnership with Fed Square.

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to The Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.