The Award for Indigenous Writing

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Indigenous Writing is awarded biennially, and offers $25,000 in prize money.

Entries for the Award for Indigenous Writing are now open via the form for the main suite of awards. Entries close 5pm AEST Monday 28 September.

Key dates for the 2021 Award

Open call for entries – Monday 28 August 2020

Close of entries – Monday 28 September 2020

Shortlist announcement – Monday 7 December 2020

Winner announcement – Thursday 28 January 2021

Eligible books for this award will be those first published in English between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2020, and made available to Australian readers between these dates.

All works that have entered the Award for Indigenous Writing may also enter any of the other categories of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards if they meet all other eligibility criteria for that award.