Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2019

Your definitive guide to Australia’s best writing.

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the main suite of awards – fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, writing for young adults, and the biennial Award for Indigenous Writing – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000.

The winners of the seven award categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Participate in the awards by voting for your favourite work on the shortlist. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be named alongside the general category winners, and will receive $2,000.

Key dates for all 2019 Awards

Open call for entries – Monday 3 September 2018
Close of entries – Monday 1 October 2018
Shortlist announcement – Monday 3 December 2018
Winner announcement – Thursday 31 January 2019

Information and enquiries

Veronica Sullivan
Programming Manager, The Wheeler Centre

Telephone: 03 9094 7821