About the Awards

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by The Hon. John Cain, Premier of Victoria in 1985, to mark the centenary of the births of Vance and Nettie Palmer and to honour and reward literary achievement by Australian writers.

The awards have received bipartisan support since their inception. The Victorian government has established the following vision and aims for the Awards:

  • to promote Victorian leadership by honouring Australian literature, ideas, innovation and learning;
  • recognise excellence in Australian writing and in contributions to the development of Australian culture;
  • advance the Victorian community’s appreciation of Australian literature and encourage commitment to reading;
  • assist living authors in their careers and promote Victoria’s literary and publishing industries.

Further awards

The Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2018

  • Friday 2 March 2018 — Entries open
  • Friday 6 April 2018 — Entries close
  • Tuesday 19 June 2018 — Winner announced

The Award for Indigenous Writing 2018

  • Friday 25 May 2018 — Call for entries
  • Monday 25 June 2018 — Entries close
  • Wednesday 29 August 2018 — Shortlist announced
  • Wednesday 5 September 2018 (Indigenous Literacy Day) — Winner announced

Information and Enquiries

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards
The Wheeler Centre
176 Little Lonsdale Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Telephone: 03 9094 7822
Email: vpla@wheelercentre.com