Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2018

Your definitive guide to Australia’s best writing.

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

The winners of the five award categories – fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry and writing for young adults – each receive $25,000, and go on to contest the Victorian Prize for Literature. 

Participate in the awards by voting for your favourite work on the shortlist. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be named alongside the general category winners, and will receive $2,000.

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards include two further awards: the Unpublished Manuscript Award and the biennial Award for Indigenous Writing. The 2017 Unpublished Manuscript Award was won by Christian White for Decay Theory, while Tony Birch's Ghost River won the 2016 Award for Indigenous Writing. These two additional awards both join consideration with the other five category winners for the Victorian Prize for Literature.

Entries have now closed.


Key dates

Monday 4 September 2017

Entries open. The Award is open to works published between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2017. Five (5) hard copy books (or equivalent) are required for each category, except Non-Fiction, where seven (7) copies will be required.

Alternatively, we will accept (non-copy protected) PDFs for all categories instead of hard copies. (Acknowledging that submitting multiple copies of books is difficult and sometimes prohibitively costly particularly for small publishing houses.)

Note: Seventy-five dollars per entry, for which we accept credit card payments or direct deposits. Entry fees for the 2018 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards will be waived for all full and current SPN members.

Monday 2 October 2017 (5.30pm) — Entries close; all texts must be received by this date in hard copy or PDF (as above). Anything mailed must be postmarked Friday 29 September or earlier.

Monday 4 December 2017 — Shortlist announced here. (Where a title is shortlisted, we'll contact the writer or publisher – a further seven (7) hard copies will be required.) 

Thursday 1 February 2018 — Winners are announced at an awards ceremony.

The Awards for Indigenous Writing 2018

Check back – a call for entries will be announced mid-2017.

The Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2018

  • Entries open Friday 2 March 2018
  • Entries close Friday 6 April 2018
  • Winner announced Tuesday 19 June 2018

Information and Enquiries

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards
The Wheeler Centre
176 Little Lonsdale Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Telephone: 03 9094 7800