Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards Shortlist Announced

The Victorian premier Ted Baillieu announced the shortlists for the 2011 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards this morning at the Wheeler Centre.

In all, 21 books have been shortlisted across five categories. The winners of each category will receive $25,000 each, and the overall winner, chosen from among the five category winners, will win the Victorian Prize for Literature, which carries a purse of $100,000, making the overall prize Australia’s richest single literary prize. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Tuesday, 6 September.

The $15,000 award for an Unpublished Manuscript will be presented to coincide with the Emerging Writers’ Festival in May 2012. The $20,000 biennial award for Indigenous Writing will be presented in September 2012 to coincide with Indigenous Literacy Day.

The shortlisted nominees are:

CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry

Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-Fiction

Prize for Writing for Young Adults

Louis Esson Prize for Drama

Related posts