Prime Minister Re-writes Literary Award

Last year's winner for adult fiction, *Dog Boy*

Last year's winner for adult fiction, Dog Boy

The Prime Minister’s Literary Award has had a redesign for 2011 with the prize being distributed across all shortlisted authors in each category.

In previous years the prize pool of $100,000 was given only to the winning author in each category, but this year the winner will receive $80,000 with $5,000 given to each of the shortlisted authors.

After last year’s delays with a change in leadership and an election, there’s also been a clearer timeline set out with nominations opening in January, a shortlist revealed in May and winners announced in the first week of July. There’s also been a re-think on eligibility with e-books and wordless picture books now in the running.

In a press release, Arts Minister Simon Crean said the changes were “in response to feedback from the book industry”.