Skip to content

Unpublished Manuscript Award at EWF Opening Night


With most of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards given out in January, one prize remains to be claimed – the Unpublished Manuscript Award, which is revealed every year on the opening night of the Emerging Writers’ Festival.

The prize has a sterling history of discovering talent. Most former winners have gone on to be published, in some cases to international acclaim and success. Two years ago, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project won the award and sold millions. Last year’s winner was Maxine Beneba Clarke, for Foreign Soil, one of 2014’s most anticipated releases.

Join Maxine, Emerging Writers’ Festival director Sam Twyford-Moore, the judges and a cast of stellar new talent at this year’s launch, where the 2014 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript will find its way into the hands of the next big thing, along with a prize purse of $15,000.


Maxine Beneba Clarke

Maxine Beneba Clarke is the ABIA and Indie award winning author of over nine books for adults and children, including the critically acclaimed short fiction collection Foreign Soil, the bestselling memoir The Hate Race, the Victorian Premier’s Award winning poetry collection Carrying the World... Read more

Sam Twyford-Moore

Sam Twyford-Moore is a writer and the founding host of The Rereaders, a fortnightly literary and cultural podcast. From 2012 until 2015, he was the Festival Director and CEO of the Emerging Writers’ Festival, during which time he directed three Melbourne-based festivals, launched the Digital Writ... Read more


The Edge, Fed Square

The Atrium Flinders Street Federation Square Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

View our privacy policy
Acknowledgment of Country

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land on which we live and work. We pay our respects to the people of the Kulin Nation and all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.