Skip to content

The Stella Prize winner in conversation


Event Status

The 2019 Stella Prize shortlist is testament to the depth of talent in women’s writing in Australia today. The shortlisted books – ranging across fiction and non-fiction – are innovative, funny, enriching and erudite. Now, the judges face the difficult task of choosing a winner.

The Stella Prize was founded to elevate the writing of Australian women with an annual, $50,000 literary prize. Now in its seventh year, it’s an indispensable fixture in Australia’s literary culture – driving book sales, sparking book clubs and boosting the careers of many fine local writers.

In April, we’ll host a conversation with Louise Swinn, chair of the 2019 judging panel, and Vicki Laveau-Harvie – announced on 9 April as the winner of this year’s award, for her memoir, The ErraticsTogether, they’ll discuss the winning book and the evolution of the Stella Prize.

Hill of Content will be our bookseller for this event.


Louise Swinn

Louise Swinn is a journalist, editor, critic and writer, co-founder of Sleepers independent publishers, the Small Press Network, and the Stella Prize. Louise edited Choice Words (Allen & Unwin, 2019), a collection of pieces demystifying abortion, and currently works as a journalist with the Aust... Read more

Vicki Laveau-Harvie

Vicki Laveau-Harvie is passionate about writing, education and communication. Her memoir, The Erratics, won the 2018 Finch Memoir Prize and the 2019 Stella Prize.  Laveau-Harvie was born in Canada, but lived for many years in France before settling in Australia. She has three passports and treasu... Read more


The Wheeler Centre

176 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

View our privacy policy
Acknowledgment of Country

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the traditional owners of the land on which we work. We pay our respects to the people of the Kulin Nation and all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders, past and present.