Skip to content

The 2020 Stella Prize Announcement


Event Status

The Stella Prize celebrates the excellence of Australian women’s writing with an annual $50,000 prize. Now in its eighth year, the Stella Prize is a fixture of Australia’s literary culture – driving books sales, sparking book clubs and boosting the careers of women writers.

Tune in online for the announcement of the winner of the 2020 Stella Prize, hosted by Patricia Karvelas and featuring guest speaker former Prime Minister Julia Gillard. We’ll also hear from Louise Swinn, chair of the Stella judging panel, and from the 2020 winner, Jess Hill. 


Presented in partnership with The Stella Prize.


Julia Gillard

Julia Gillard was sworn in as the 27th Prime Minister of Australia on 24 June 2010 and served in that office until June 2013. She is the first woman to ever serve as Australia’s Prime Minister or Deputy Prime Minister.  Her memoirs, My Story, were published by Random House in September 2014. As ... Read more

Patricia Karvelas

Patricia Karvelas is a prominent Australian journalist, beginning her professional career at the ABC and SBS 20 years ago. She currently presents Radio National’s flagship radio current affairs programme RN Drive­ – a role she took up in January 2015. Patricia co-hosts the ABC’s popular week... Read more

Louise Swinn

Louise Swinn is a journalist, editor, critic and writer, co-founder of Sleepers independent publishers, the Small Press Network, and the Stella Prize. Louise edited Choice Words (Allen & Unwin, 2019), a collection of pieces demystifying abortion, and currently works as a journalist with the Aust... Read more

Jaclyn Booton

Jaclyn Booton is the Executive Director of the Stella Prize. She has over 15 years’ experience in the cultural sector, with a focus on the performing arts and literary events. She was previously the Senior Producer for Talks & Ideas at Sydney Opera House where she oversaw its two annual fest... Read more


More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

View our privacy policy
Acknowledgment of Country

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the traditional owners of the land on which we work. We pay our respects to the people of the Kulin Nation and all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders, past and present.