Skip to content

Celebrating Peter Temple


Event Status

As a nation mired in certain delinquent traditions, you might say that Australians are overachievers in the field of crime writing. Amongst us, though, Peter Temple was one of the very best.

His prose elevated crime fiction to literary significance, too. In addition to winning prestigious crime fiction prizes including five Ned Kelly Awards and the Crime Writers’ Association Duncan Lawrie Dagger – the first Australian to claim the Gold Dagger – his last novel, Truth, won the Miles Franklin.

Temple died in March this year, a couple of days shy of his 72nd birthday. To celebrate his contribution to Australia’s crime fiction canon, we’ll bring together some of his contemporaries, friends and admirers for a night of readings from his work – and stories from his own life. Hosted by Jason Steger.


Jason Steger

Jason Steger is books editor at The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald.

Kerryn Goldsworthy

Kerryn Goldsworthy is a freelance writer and critic, and a former academic who lectured in literature at the University of Melbourne for 17 years. A former editor of Australian Book Review and a member of the editorial team that produced The Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature (2009... Read more

Michael Robotham

Gold Dagger winning and Edgar shortlisted author Michael Robotham was born in Australia in November 1960, and grew up in small country towns that had more dogs than people and more flies than dogs. He escaped in 1979 and became a cadet journalist on an afternoon newspaper in Sydney. For the nex... Read more

Michael Heyward

As well as being an author and editor, Michael Heyward is the managing director and publisher for Text Publishing, a multi-award-winning independent publishing company in Melbourne. Text publishes Australian and international authors, including Barack Obama, Kate Grenville, Helen Garner, Tim Flann... Read more

Ian Collie

Ian Collie is one of Australia’s most experienced producers and the founder of Easy Tiger, having previously run the Scripted division of Essential Media which was awarded the Screen Producers of Australia ‘Producer of the Year’ in 2012. His credits include the iconic ABC comedy Rake (five sea... Read more

Louise Thurtell

Louise Thurtell has worked in publishing for nearly 30 years – starting out at Harper Collins before moving to Transworld, Random House and Allen & Unwin. Louise will never forget sitting down to read the manuscript of Peter Temple’s Bad Debts in 1995, and knowing within the first page ... Read more

Marta Dusseldorp

Award-winning actress Marta Dusseldorp has worked extensively in theatre, film and television and is one of Australia’s most recognised actresses. She received the 2015 AACTA Award for Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama for ABC’s Janet King in which she plays the title role. Marta stars in ... Read more

Shane Maloney

Born in Hamilton in western Victoria in 1953, Shane Maloney is one of Australia’s most popular novelists. His award-winning and much-loved Murray Whelan series – Stiff, The Brush-Off, Nice Try, The Big Ask, Something Fishy and Sucked In – has been published around the world.  In 1996, The B... Read more


The Wheeler Centre

176 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

Privacy Policy

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Centre stands. We acknowledge and pay our respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their Elders, past and present, as the custodians of the world’s oldest continuous living culture.