Skip to content

Alexis Wright: The Swan Book


When Alexis Wright’s Carpentaria won the Miles Franklin, it was the first time an Aboriginal writer was awarded our most prestigious national literary prize outright. It went on to become a worldwide bestseller.

The New York Times praised the novel’s ‘magisterial yet colloquial voice, which transformed the oral tradition of the country’s indigenous people into a swirling narrative spiked with burlesque humour’.

The Swan Book is set in the future, with Aboriginal people still living under the Intervention in the north, in an environment fundamentally altered by climate change.

Alexis Wright combines energy and humour, myth, legend and fairytale – and finds hope in the bleakest of situations.


Alexis Wright

Alexis Wright is a member of the Waanyi nation of the Gulf of Carpentaria and the renowned author of the prize-winning novels Carpentaria and The Swan Book. Her most recent book, Tracker, was awarded the 2018 Stella Prize. She holds the Boisbouvier Chair in Australian Literature at the University of... Read more

Sophie Cunningham

Sophie Cunningham is the author of seven books, including City of Trees: Essays on Life, Death & the Need for a Forest (2019). Her new novel, This Devastating Fever, is coming out with Ultimo Press in September 2022. Her next book for children, Flipper and Finnegan: the true story of Penguins in... Read more


The Wheeler Centre

176 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne Victoria 3000

More details

Stay up to date with our upcoming events and special announcements by subscribing to the Wheeler Centre's mailing list.

View our privacy policy
Acknowledgment of Country

The Wheeler Centre acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land on which we live and work. We pay our respects to the people of the Kulin Nation and all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders past and present.