Monica McInerney

Monica McInerney

Monica McInerney returns to Australia with her latest book, At Home With The Templetons, set in Victoria’s goldfields. In conversation with Toni Jordan, McInerney explains how she came to write about family, and delves deep into her writing process. She reveals a tireless work ethic with respect to character development and backstory.

She also shares her editing process and the beginnings of her writing career, which ironically took place after she extracted herself from the publishing industry.


Portrait of Monica McInerney

Monica McInerney

Australian-born Monica McInerney is the author of the bestselling novels Family Baggage, The Alphabet Sisters, Spin the Bottle, Upside Down Inside Out and A Taste for It.

Portrait of Toni Jordan

Toni Jordan

Toni Jordan is the author of four novels. The international bestseller Addition (2008) was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick, and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin award. Fall Girl (2010) was published internationally and has been optioned for film, while Nine Days (2012) was awarded Best Fiction at the 2012 Indie Awards, shortlisted for the ABIA Best General Fiction award and named in Kirkus Review’s Top 10 Historical Novels of 2013. Her latest novel is Our Tiny, Useless Hearts (2016). Toni has been published widely in newspapers and magazines.

Listen to Monica McInerney